ICC CWC League 2: Nepal Lost Against Netherlands By 8 Wickets

Himalaya Times
Read Time = 2 mins

Nepal lost by 8 wickets at home to the Netherlands in their fourth match in the ICC CWC League 2, which is the pathway to the Cricket World Cup 2027.

After winning the toss, the Netherlands decided to bowl first. Nepal’s batting was proven ineffective while they scored 172 runs in 49.3 overs. Kushal Bhurtel led the scoreboard with 66 runs off 93 balls. But wickets kept falling on the other end with low scores.

Wicketkeeper batsman Aasif Sheikh scored 17 off 27 before getting caught at midfield by Bas de Leede in Vivian Kingma’s pace bowling. Anil Sah scored 7 off 11, which included a six straight to long on just before he was played on in Kingma’s bowl. Kushal Malla scored 2 runs and was trapped in lbw by spinner Aryan Dutt after conceding 5 dot balls. Captain Rohit Poudel scored 16 off 40 balls when he was caught in Dutt’s spin.

DS Airee scored one run. He was run out when Bas de Leede was bowling his third over, and Bhurtel tried to hit the ball straight when it hit around Leede’s body and touched the wickets at the non-striking end, where Airee had left the crease. Bhim Sharki could not score when he was bowled by Leede. Nepal was then 94 for 6 after 29.3 overs.

Nepali batsmen Aarif Sheikh contributed 22 runs off 50 balls and Karan KC 26 off 27 balls with 2 sixes and 1 four and tried to run the scoreboard. Gulshan Jha scored five runs earlier. Nepal set the target of 173 runs for the Dutch.

Dutch bowlers Vivian Kingma and Aryan Dutt shared 3 wickets each, in which the former conceded 39 runs in 10 overs and the latter 19 in his 10 overs spell with the best economic rate of the Dutch inning. Bas de Leede got 2 wickets, and Roelof van der Merwe took 1 in his economic spell with a 2.30 economic rate.

The Netherlands scored 173 runs in 37.5 overs and won the match by 8 wickets. Opener Max O’Dowd scored 28 off 26 balls, which included 2 sixes and 2 fours. Another opener, Michael Levitt, contributed 39 runs off 34 balls with 4 sixes and 3 fours. Dutch batsman Vikramjit Singh, the player of the match, scored 58 off 92 balls to lead the team to victory. Similarly, Sybrand Engelbrecht scored 46 out of 75 balls.

Rajbanshi and Airee took 1 wicket each in their 10 overs spell.

Nepal won one match against the Netherlands the previous week and lost two matches against Namibia, standing third on the points table.

The ICC CWC League 2 will continue for 2 years in different venues, in which 8 nations will compete and the top 4 teams will play World Cup qualifiers for the 2027 World Cup.
-Birendra Chand

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

In case you missed it