3 Independent Mayors Boycott NA Election

Himalaya Times
Read Time = 1 min

Three mayors elected as independents to the National Assembly have boycotted the NA poll.

Kathmandu Metropolitan City Mayor Balendra Shah, Dharan Sub-Metropolis Mayor Harka Sampang, and Dhangadhi Sub-Metropolis Mayor Gopal Hamal have all boycotted the election.

According to reports, Kathmandu Metropolitan Mayor Shah did not attend the National Assembly election in Hetaunda on Thursday owing to a hectic schedule. He had never voted in the state assembly elections before.

Harka Sampang, mayor of Dharan, a sub-metropolitan city in Koshi province, did not vote. Similarly, Jay Prakash Gachchdar, chairman of Gramthan Rural Municipality, is claimed to have abstained from voting due to illness. Similarly, the mayor of Dhangadhi, Gopal Hamal, did not vote in the NA election.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

In case you missed it