Dr Swarnim Wagle Elected in Tanahun-1; Vows to Work For People

Dr Wagle vowed that he would work in a way the Tanahu people would pride it

Himalaya Times
Read Time = 1 min

Rastriya Swatantra Party's candidate Dr Swarnim Wagle has been elected the member of House of Representatives (HoR) from constituency no 1 of Tanahun district with 34,911 votes in the by-election.

Chief returning officer Komal Prasad Acharya conferred the certificate on Wagle amidst a programme today.

In the certificate handover programme, the newly elected HoR member Dr Wagle vowed that he would work in a way the Tanahu people would pride it. The agenda of development would be addressed, he added. "I will ensure justice to people's expectation," he pledged, adding that he would work in collaboration and coordination with all political parties in Tanahun. According to him, if policy and competence are put in right place, development potential could be unlocked.

He further viewed, "Collective efforts will contribute to country's development."

Meanwhile, nearest contender to Dr Wagle, Govinda Bhattarai, congratulated Dr Wagle for his win and extended best wishes to him. "Our election campaign and competition were friendly and cordial," Bhattarai said, observing that he failed to meet voters' expectation while Dr Wagle did.

His nearest contender Bhattarai of the Nepali Congress collected 20, 122 votes, while CPN UML candidate Sarbendra Khanal got 8,488 votes, according to assistant election officer, Min Bahadur Kunwar.

Moreover, the vote count result showed Rastriya Prajanatra Party's candidate Shova Gurung received 218 votes, Bhim Bahadur Sunar of Nagarik Unmukti Party 99 votes, NWPP's Ram Prasad Prajapati 31 votes, Prem Bahadur Thapa of Mongol National Organization 166, Purna Bahadur Rana of Rastriya Janamukti 87 and Ganesh Shrestha of CPN Socialist 5.

A total of 65,316 votes were cast in the by-election while 64,135 were valid.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

In case you missed it