Vice Presidential Election: Voting Begins

Himalaya Times
Read Time = 2 mins

Voting has started for the election of the new vice president. The election is being held in the Lotse Hall of the Federal Parliament Building, Baneswor.

Astalaxmi Shakya (Bohara) of the CPN (UML), Mamata Jha of the Janamat Party and Ramsahaya Prasad Yadav of the Janata Samajbadi Party are in the race.

There are 332 voters of the Federal Parliament and 550 voters of the PA in the election. The weightage of a vote cast by a member of Federal Parliament will be equivalent to 79 whereas the weightage of a vote cast by PA member will be equivalent to 48.

Arrangements have been made to count vote shortly after voting, said Election Officer Sharma. Vice President shall be assigned to look after affairs in the absence of the President. The tenure of the Vice President is five years.

This is the third vice presidential election since the country adopted federal democratic republic system in 2008.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

In case you missed it